top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoshuaWJarman

Featured Artist 008: Roger Mindwater



When Bob Dylan hit the scene in the 1960's he shook the world of singer-songwriters to the core. When other popular musicians had blues tendencies, american folk or early jazz, Bob Dylan was on to some new sounds. In Charleston, SC, Roger Mindwater is shaking the reigns just the same.


Roger Mindwater invokes sounds reminiscent of early Folk artists as well as new age artists such as Guided By Voices and similar groups. Watching Roger play his music is like watching a public confession of emotion. He seems to fully submit himself to the works and is able to convey whatever feeling he is working to share. This sound, like fuzzy explosions in the air, keeps the listener enthralled as they try to compare Roger Mindwater's likeness to another favored artist.


Wings Weekly caught up with Roger and asked him seven questions:


1. WW: Why Music? RM: When I was young, music provided some sort of a foothold in a bewildering, chaotic world, and I became hooked. I started making my own music when I wanted to hear sounds that I couldn't find in the music I heard around me. Eventually I realized music's ability to communicate unspeakable ideas and feelings, and so I use my songs to connect with others, and to myself.


2. WW: What is Profit? RM: You've got a big room full of gold coins and every now and then you swim around in it, doing those little dolphin type leaps and occasionally spitting out a few coins that accidentally got into your mouth.


3. WW: Which do you prefer, Birds or lizards, and why? RM: You're really cornering me with these tough choices, huh? I wish I could choose both. I admire a lizard's ability to regulate its body heat and just chill, but I have to go with birds in the end. They can see so well. You can't really fool a bird, either. Ever notice that? They know what's up.


4. WW: Live or prerecorded music, and why? RM: While I can't deny the power of live music, and certainly there is nothing that compares to a great show, I am pretty introverted and have spent much more time in the recorded music realm. I have been recording my own stuff for a long time. Recording is an art in itself. I like to see what people can do with it.


5. WW: Do you prefer breakfast, lunch or dinner? RM: Breakfast all day long


6. WW: What stops you in your tracks (musically)? RM: Passion, honesty, a willingness to try new things and be open to chance


7. WW: If every ear would hear your song: about what would you sing? RM: Happiness, satisfaction, and love are not out there to be found or acquired. Instead just look to yourself.


Wings Weekly is glad to share work by artists like Roger Mindwater. Please add him online, support his music and check out his music online!


Spotify: https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/mindwater/cSn0?fbclid=IwAR0CCaWzEqaAbsZmTcLP9JPbMWOJSYrZxI4wFBSWA4BRtEXC99c7YzY8oXg


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100004575018285


YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUwAufKO4gMP5-sWAgn_nKA


Thanks For Reading!




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page